Greater Palm Springs Pride announces the recipients of its 2014 Pride Honors Awards. The prestigious Pride Honors are presented annually to individuals in order to recognize the work they have put into raising awareness and furthering the causes of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender individuals and their allies. The awards will be presented at a ceremony on October 10, at the Hyatt Palm Springs.

Lifetime Achievement Awards will be presented to the nation’s leading transgender advocate for LGBT rights Shannon Price Minter and businesswoman pioneer Mariah Hansen. Recognized for enhancing the community through the arts, the 2014 Organization of the Year is The Desert Rose Playhouse. Fiona Foyston and Pat Bergmann, along with Tony Marchese, will be recognized with Spirit of Stonewall Community Service Awards.

Pennie Feenhan and Gordon Elkins will be honored as Volunteers of the Year, and Riverside County Sheriff Chief Deputy Raymond Gregory and community activist Wes Rankins will be recognized with the Spirit of Pride Award for advancing equality, promoting diversity and celebrating the strength and talent of the LGBT community. The 2014 Friend of Pride Award will be presented to student advocate Tori St. Johns and in recognition of her trailblazing work as the first openly transgender trial judge in the United States, Superior Court Judge Vicky Kowlakowski will be the 2014 Spirit of Stonewall Special Guest.

The Community Grand Marshals recognized for their positive and lasting impact represent two generations of volunteerism and service in the community. Alexis Ortega is part of a new generation that’s dedicated to building a stronger and more vibrant community and Thomas Smith is recognized for thirty years of community service, leadership in the leather community and as an award winning author.

PRIDE HONORS AWARDS October 10, 2014 (6:00 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.)

The prestigious Palm Springs Pride Honors Awards are presented annually to individuals to honor the work they have put into furthering the causes of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender individuals and their allies. The awards reception will take place October 10, 2014, 6:00 pm – 8:00 pm at the Hyatt Palm Springs located at 285 N. Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs.  Tickets are available online at  Proceeds from the reception will go to the Pride LGBT Landmark Monument Fund to establish a Wall of Honor landmark monument to honor and remember LGBT community members.