The Palm Springs Chamber of Commerce will induct the 2019/20 Board of Directors and present awards to leaders in the greater Palm Springs business community during a special luncheon on Friday, June 14 at the Renaissance Palm Springs. United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology (USCAP) is the main event sponsor for the 2019 Installation and Business Awards. 

This year’s award recipients are Marty Massiello from Eisenhower Health, who will receive Businessperson of the Year; Sunline Transit Agency will receive the Large Business award; D.W. Johnson Construction will receive the Medium Business award; Blackbook Bar will receive the Small Business award; the P.S. I Love You award will go to Gino Lamont from NBC Palm Springs; Entrepreneur of the Year will be awarded to Julie Montante, owner of PSA Organica; Community Vision award will go to College of the Desert Superintendent/President, Joel L. Kinnamon, Ed.D.; El Mirasol Restaurant will be honored with the Hometown Appreciation award; Palm Springs International Airport will receive the Tourism Award; Palm Springs Chamber Ambassador, Erin Jay, will receive Ambassador of the Year; Uniquely Palm Springs award will honor The Tropicale Restaurant, a brand favorite that is unique to Palm Springs, and, the Community Spirit award will honor Ron deHarte for his tireless work towards equality through his leadership with the Greater Palm Springs Pride Association.

Palm Springs Chamber of Commerce will dedicate part of the Installation and Business Awards program to recognize the leadership and contributions of three members from the Board of Directors who will be stepping down at the end of the 2018/19 year. Steven Henke from Desert AIDS Project served as Board President during the 2017/18 year of his 5-year term; Brett Klein served on behalf of Eisenhower Health since July 2017; Steve Huffman from Huffman Properties has served since July 2016. Their contributions helped lead to the opening of Palm Springs’ first Co-Working space as well as increase the quality and reach of the annual Palm Springs City Guide, published exclusively by Palm Springs Chamber of Commerce. Current Board President, Jenny McLean from McLean Company, will be succeeded by incoming Board President, John Fritch from Elevated Experiences, however, McLean will continue to serve as a member of the Board of Directors in 2019/20. 

The awards luncheon will be hosted by multi-award-winning actor, author, and producer Sean Kanan. Sean is the co-author of the best seller, Success Factor X, and played the role of Deacon Sharpe on daytime’s the Bold & the Beautiful/Young & the Restless, and the popular General Hospital character, AJ Quartermaine.  This annual event is scheduled for Friday, June 14, 2019 from 11:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. at the Renaissance Palm Springs located at 888 E. Tahquitz Canyon Way. The cost is $75 per seat. $750 for table of 10. RSVP online at  Sponsorship packages and program advertising are available through the Palm Springs Chamber of Commerce by contacting Nona Watson, CEO at (760) 325-1577 or by visiting